My Worst Enemy

That’s right,  ME.

So yesterday I came home.  Had my hands full, and was unexpectedly mad at the door being locked.  I start kicking the door, or knocking with my foot, as I fumble for me keys.

I was not in a bad mood when I arrived at the house.  Anyway, my wife justifiably starts asking me why I’m kicking the door.  I just remembered why I was upset.  It was because just before bedtime the night before, I was told to fix the garage door.  It is older, and had been backed into before, and had separated a little when opened.  It was going to be a cold night.  When I got home, the other door was wide open.  I remember thinking, You’re (my wife) yelling at me to fix a crack in door, and leave the other wide open?

This is petty I know.  Just bear with me, not the worst of it…So my wife and I are pissed at each other 2 mins after I get home over stupid shit blown out of proportion.   

She tells me half an hour later via text that she had plans for me when I got home, but all those happy thoughts went out the window when I got home.

Great!  So I ruined a potentially wonderful evening.  Nice job….no one to blame but me.

So since my wife opens the lines of communication,  I send her about 20 texts telling first admitting I was an ass, and then on to other things about how I feel about our relationship.   How if we don’t get to know each other again, and establish some foundation of intimacy (not just sex), that we are screwed.

I woke up this morning and was a little surprised I didn’t have a single text response.   If she doesn’t talk to me at all further, I will have to consider the possibility of emotional manipulation?   I am brushed off, but never get a reasonable answer until well outside of the moment, so I take responsibility for this one, unless her actions lead me to think otherwise.  Regardless,  it was stupid to be upset at something so trivial.  I had dealt with so many more difficult situations during the day prior to that, and handled them much more gracefully. ..

Author: fight4urlover

So about me... I'm a middle-aged guy, married 15+ years with kids. I love my wife, and have never so much as kissed another woman the entire time we have been married. When we first met, we had both been cheated on, and we decided that we would not cheat on each other. I think we have both teetered on the edge. Like most married couples, over the years, we have given each other plenty of reasons to build resentment at times. So this space is a personal reflection of my journey of attempting to remain married and true. That's why I started this first-ever blog. The goal is to avoid sounding like one of those "perfect" articles of someone who sounds like they are giving advice. This all comes from personal experience or from talking to other people, married and single, and I want to keep it raw. To me that's more exciting than a well-researched topic. Everyone can relate to this on a human level. I know that guys like to get to the point, and ladies like a good story with plenty of details, so I'll try to find a balance. Strap in and let's ride!

6 thoughts on “My Worst Enemy”

  1. The old joke about the man who gets yelled at by his boss, runs a red light and gets a ticket, yells at his wife, she yells at the kids who kicked the dog. Then they are surprised when the kids become juvenile delinquents and the dog keeps biting the neighbors

    Like

  2. Sometimes our resentment manifests itself in the most seemingly innocuous ways … I wrote about a year ago (I don’t know how to link to previous posts) about my physical confrontation with my kitchen garbage device … seems funny now 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

