Better Man Better Days

So, I’m gonna try turning over a new leaf if you will.  In the news lately, there is the line “when they go low, you go high”  Well, let’s say I think I can be better.  And if I try to be better FOR MYSELF, let’s just see what happens.  I have always been a positive person, but sometimes in a relationship, your partner can just bring out the worst (sometimes on purpose).

So, I don’t walk on water myself, and to be honest there is a lot more effort that I could be putting into a lot of areas of my life.  I had the day off today and everyone else did not.  Day started off with a stupid argument before coffee had even finished brewing.  Moving past that, I got to thinking about some of the areas to work on, and did something about it this morning.  I am also adopting the attitude that if I really did not provoke anything with anyone, and they choose to be an ass, “They don’t give a damn, I don’t give a WHAAAT?”  Seriously though, I’m not wasting my energy on someone who just wants to suck my energy for no good reason.  I don’t care if it’s my house or anywhere else.

I’m focusing on the good.  Last night, I told my daughter that I was going to have lunch with her today, and take her to the book fair on her lunch.  I got to the school, and her teacher told me how excited she was, and had been talking about it all morning.  I sat with her while she ate, and then we headed down the hall to the library where the book fair was being held.  She had a couple of books picked out.  I offered to take the books with me, but she wanted to take them back to class with her.  But first, I had to take her to recess.  We walked out to the playground, and she got there before the rest of her class.  We talked for a little while before the rest of her class showed up, and then I talked with her teacher a little while before leaving the school.

My other daughter wanted me to take her to to Chik fil A on the way to school today.  Sometimes, it’s the little things.

When I have all this good stuff going on, anything negative comes across really negative to me, and I have a very low tolerance, and do not always GO HIGH.  I’ll see what I can do about that.

When you have great kids, it’s just a shame when your partner and you aren’t seeing eye to eye.  Such a drag, if you let it be.  But attitude controls your thoughts, which control your feelings, so maybe it’s time I get an ATTITUDE in the best sense of the word.

Funny thing is, I work on the phone with people all day.  A few of them are upset, and my mind is constantly working on a solution.  I don’t do that at home.  Now, I’m not gonna be somebody’s doormat, but I could probably benefit from say using the first 30 minutes that I get home to REALLY listen to everyone, and see if there’s anything I can do to assist with the situation to make things easier.  If they want to blow me off, THAT’S ON THEM.

Most of the time, on the weekends and evenings, I just want to chill out.  Well maybe I could just DO MORE.  If I’m the one to raise my own game, nobody can say shit about it.

Then, today I get an email in ALL CAPS about 1 marginally important task not completed out of many I helped with last week.  My first thought was “What makes them think they can speak to me that way?”  (And not my boss) I sent a response advising the task would be done today, and let them know about the many other items that had been addressed that were not part of our initial conversation.   We also came up with a communication plan.  I am always more diplomatic at work, but it feels good to be thinking about my boundaries on all fronts.

Anyway, we’ll see where this goes.

 

Author: fight4urlover

So about me... I'm a middle-aged guy, married 15+ years with kids. I love my wife, and have never so much as kissed another woman the entire time we have been married. When we first met, we had both been cheated on, and we decided that we would not cheat on each other. I think we have both teetered on the edge. Like most married couples, over the years, we have given each other plenty of reasons to build resentment at times. So this space is a personal reflection of my journey of attempting to remain married and true. That's why I started this first-ever blog. The goal is to avoid sounding like one of those "perfect" articles of someone who sounds like they are giving advice. This all comes from personal experience or from talking to other people, married and single, and I want to keep it raw. To me that's more exciting than a well-researched topic. Everyone can relate to this on a human level. I know that guys like to get to the point, and ladies like a good story with plenty of details, so I'll try to find a balance. Strap in and let's ride!

3 thoughts on “Better Man Better Days”

  1. Sounds like a plan. 🙂
    Hope you remember to be kind to yourself and know that we all are a “work in progress”…and that your best IS good enough. Keep looking for your joy and blessings…they are always there even if you feel you need to search a little harder at times. Children are our biggest teachers and blessings. Enjoy ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I was just flipping through to see what was new on WordPress. Definitely agree our best is good enough. .. I have to be honest about whether giving my best. With anything else, there is an ebb and flow. Well, I hope you are doing better. You have a great attitude, and that makes it a win..Take Care

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

